Henrico County DUI Lawyer

If you are accused of driving under the influence in or around Richmond, Virginia a Henrico County DUI lawyer can help guide you through the ordeal.

A DUI conviction can have a huge impact on your life. Fines and jail time are not the only sources of anxiety for someone facing these charges: they can also be overwhelmed by thoughts of losing the convenience of transportation or facing the judgment of others.

Fortunately, a dedicated, knowledgeable Henrico County DUI lawyer can fight hard in your defense, minimizing the impact of the charges on your life or possibly even proving your innocence. Call today to find out more information about your situation and discuss your case with a criminal lawyer in Henrico County.

Working With a Private DUI Lawyer

DUI Attorney in Henrico VAWhy work with one of the Henrico County DUI Lawyers at our firm?  First of all, we have the local knowledge and experience necessary to successfully try a DUI case in Henrico County.  Furthermore, our attorneys are dedicated to protecting your rights, keeping you apprised of any developments that occur with your case, and building a defense that meets your personal needs.

Call our friendly legal team today to conduct your free consultation and learn more about how a Henrico County DUI lawyer can defend you and get you back on the road as quickly as possible.

What Is “Driving Under The Influence”?

DUI means that someone is operating a vehicle while under the influence of any kind of impairing drug. Most people think alcohol and .08% when they hear DUI, but it can apply to any drug in any amount that causes impairment. In many cases, it is up to the judgment of the arresting officer. Under Section 18.2-266 of the Virginia Code, any BAC over .08% is automatically illegal.

If a law enforcement officer has reason to believe that you are impaired, or if you have a BAC at or over .08%, you can expect to face prosecution. The consequences for a conviction can range from minor to extreme based on the circumstances of the charge, and our dedicated Henrico County DUI lawyers have experience handling a wide spectrum of DUI cases.

DUI Penalties in Virginia

Under Virginia Code Section 18.2-270, the least severe penalty for a DUI conviction is as much as 12 months in jail and/or a fine of $250-$2,500 for a first-time offense. The most severe penalty for a DUI conviction is a class 6 felony charge for 4 convictions within ten years. Under Section 18.2-10 of the Virginia Code, the penalty a class 6 felony is 1-5 years in jail, or, at the discretion of a jury, up to 12 months in prison and/or a fine of up to $2,500. However, a fourth DUI conviction carries a mandatory minimum of one year in jail and a fine of $1,000.

For commercial drivers, they will likely face harsher penalties because they are held to a higher standard than regular everyday drivers.

In addition to the penalties listed above, there are a lot of consequences that have nothing to do with prison time or fines. The first example of this kind of consequence is that your vehicle can be confiscated for any felony DUI charge. These administrative penalties are very severe on a DUI charge and include:

  • License suspension
  • A requirement to attend an Alcohol Safety Action Program
  • Required installation of an ignition interlock system

Underage DUI Charges

The blood alcohol level required if an individual is under 21 is substantially less than if an individual is 21 or older. With underage DUIs, authorities only need to show that an individual’s blood alcohol level was higher than a .02, so the standard necessary to obtain a conviction for an underage DUI is much lower.

An underage DUI is handled in much the same manner as a normal or standard DUI, unless the person is under the age of 18. If they are under the age of 18, the matter will be handled in the juvenile court. If they are over 18, but still under 21, it would be handled in the general district court and the officers—very much the same as in a standard DUI—would testify as to the individual’s driving and any sort of impairment. They will also testify as to any field test conducted and the results of any breath test. Just like with a standard DUI, an underage DUI should be taken seriously and a Henrico County DUI lawyer should be consulted to handle the charges.

Prosecution of Underage DUI Charges in Henrico County

Underage DUI cases are prosecuted very strongly by the prosecutors and the judges in Henrico County. However, the sentences or the punishments are much less severe, they routinely will not result in any sort of active jail sentence. Prosecutors and judges will want to send a message to the individual to avoid any further issues. An Henrico County DUI attorney can help try to mitigate the severity of the penalties.

Call a Henrico County DUI Lawyer Today

DUI charges can be incredibly intimidating, especially if you are unfamiliar with how they are handled in court. Someone who has local experience will have extensive knowledge on which expert witnesses will be valuable in a person’s defense. Call a Henrico County DUI attorney with our firm today to learn how we can help you to handle your charges and if there were any possible constitutional violations during your traffic stop.

If an individual under the age of 21 is pulled over for suspicion of impairment by alcohol, that person can be charged with an underage DUI or, as it is sometimes referred to, a baby DUI. This can come with a blood alcohol level of anywhere between a .02 and .07, so those underage need to understand that just one drink can create this sort of issue. In addition, if an individual has a blood alcohol level of .08 or higher, the minor can be charged as an adult and being charged with an adult DUI comes with much more severe penalties. This makes it even more important that a local attorney is contacted as soon as possible.