Charles City DUI Lawyer

A DUI charge is always serious. The penalties for DUI are significant, even for first-time offenders. And the consequences of having a DUI on your record can impact your life for years to come. In any circumstance, the smart strategy is to hire a Charles City DUI lawyer to represent you in court.

The outcome of a DUI charge is never set in stone. With the right defense, it is possible for defendants to contest the charge or to reduce the prescribed penalties. A Charles City defense lawyer will work to establish the facts of the case, understand how local and state laws apply to the charge, and craft a case that upholds the defendant’s rights. In order to underscore just how important effective legal representation is, it is imperative to understand what type of penalties accompany a DUI conviction in the state of Virginia.

First Offense

In order to make the roads safer and to discourage a culture of drinking and driving, the penalties for even a first-time DUI are quite punitive. Anyone found guilty can be sentenced to up to 12 months in jail. They could also pay a fine of up to $2,500 and have their license suspended for one year.  If given a restricted license, the ignition interlock is required as well.

With these things said, there is some leeway within the courts for first-time offenders. And there is a huge difference between having one DUI charge on a permanent record rather than having no DUI charges. In this regard, a Charles City DUI lawyer can help to keep a bad situation from getting worse.

Second Offense

The second time someone is convicted of a DUI the penalties become much harsher. Persons found guilty could face up to 12 months in prison with mandatory minimum sentences depending on the time frame and BAC.  There is also the chance of being forced to pay a fine of at least $2500. There is the potential to have a suspended license for up to three years and to have an ignition lock device installed on the car.

Two DUI convictions put anyone into a perilous position. The difference between being a one time offender and a repeat offender is significant which makes it imperative that a DUI attorney in Charles City is contacted to build a defense.

Third Offense

This is considered the final straw in the state of Virginia. Persons found guilty within a ten year period will have a felony on their record, serve at least six months and pay a fine of at least $1,000. Their license will be suspended for an indefinite period of time.

Having three DUI convictions is a dangerous position to be in. The third charge also makes the defense much more important, and a lot more complicated. A Charles City DUI lawyer is essential in this scenario. There are ways to fight back against the system, but only with a legal representative who fully understands the applicable laws and the history of the courts.

How a DUI Lawyer in Charles City Can Help

Too many people simply accept their DUI conviction and try to move on with their lives. But it is much easier to move on if you avoid the charge or minimize the penalties. Contact our firm today to arrange a free consultation with a Charles City DUI lawyer.

Charles City Criminal Lawyer