Amelia County Reckless Driving Lawyer

If you were recently accused of reckless driving in Virginia, it is easy to assume that this is a minor issue and one that does not require the services of an attorney. However, failing to retain a criminal defense lawyer could mean dealing with the consequences of this charge well into the future. Consider how speaking with a lawyer could give you the first steps to fight back.

No one should have to pay the price for reckless driving, but if your life has already been affected by someone else’s negligence, your time to bring a civil claim is limited and you should explore your options now.

Typical Types of Reckless Driving

There are numerous different statutes in the state of Virginia that reference reckless driving. These include reckless driving by passing a school bus in a parking lot, excessive speed for the conditions, general reckless driving, driving by passing on a curve, failing to signal, failing to yield, racing, and more. The general charge of reckless driving in the state is classified under Virginia Code 46.2-852.

Consequences for a Reckless Driving Conviction

Reckless driving in most cases is categorized as a class one misdemeanor. This means it carries a potential punishment of up to $2,500 in fines, six months of loss of license and up to 12 months in jail. The consequences for a person who has been convicted of reckless driving in Virginia, however, do not end there.

If convicted, the accused party could see an increase in their insurance premium, DMV demerit points and issues with security clearance and employment. Pleading guilty to reckless driving in court without first speaking to a criminal defense attorney could subject a person to serious consequences that they did not understand prior to pleading for a first offense driving ticket.

Driving on a Suspended License

For a reckless driving conviction, the court can remove the person’s license for as long as six months. This means that the driver is then required to sign a document acknowledging that their license is suspended. Driving on a suspended license could also carry additional criminal consequences.

For a driver who has been convicted of the third offense of reckless driving, the punishment carries with it a mandatory 10-day incarceration.

Possible outcomes in a criminal defense case could vary based on the individual factors involved but a person who has been recently accused could benefit from speaking with a reckless driving lawyer in Amelia county who is familiar with the common approaches towards handling these types of claims.

Work with an Amelia County Reckless Driving Attorney Today

An Amelia county reckless driving lawyer could sit down with the person who has been accused at the outset of the case and discuss all possible options for resolution.

In some cases, this could mean dismissal or reduction of the charges, but each case will have its own factors and elements to be considered. Scheduling a consultation with a knowledgeable criminal defense attorney who is familiar with traffic law could be the first step in fighting back against these unfortunate charges.

Amelia County Reckless Driving Lawyer