Charles City Domestic Violence Lawyer

In Virginia, domestic violence is considered a form of assault and battery, but Code of Virginia §18.2-57.2 distinguishes assault and battery against a member of the same household or family from other criminal charges. Any person convicted of battery or assault against a member of their own household would automatically be guilty of a Class I misdemeanor, and individuals with previous domestic violence charges typically face harsher penalties than first-time offenders.

If you are currently facing domestic violence charges, you may be wondering what you can do to clear your name and avoid a negative outcome to your case. Fortunately, a qualified criminal defense attorney may be able to help. Get in touch with a Charles City domestic violence lawyer if you need additional legal assistance.

What Is Considered Domestic Violence?

Domestic violence is a catch-all term used to describe any type of violence perpetrated by a person against a member of their own household. Some people believe domestic violence only occurs between romantic partners, but in actuality it can also include parents, siblings, children, roommates, and domestic partners.

Additionally, domestic violence encompasses a wide range of behaviors, such as:

  • Using knives, guns, or other weapons to intimidate a person
  • Preventing a person from leaving the house
  • Using physical, sexual, or emotional violence against a person
  • Threatening to kill a person or someone they love
  • Stalking a person

As long as the illegal act is committed against a member of the same household, it can be considered domestic violence. When facing such charges, it may be beneficial to hire a Charles City domestic violence attorney.

Legal Procedures for Domestic Violence Conviction Allegations

Arrest procedures are slightly different for those accused of domestic violence. The Code of Virginia allows law enforcement officers to make an arrest without a warrant if they believe a person may be committing an act of domestic violence.

Furthermore, in domestic violence cases involving normal charges of assault and battery, the alleged victim of the assault cannot drop charges against an alleged abuser. In normal cases, this is allowed, but even if a person later states they do not believe the person they accused is guilty of a crime, the state will still pursue charges against the accused.

Consequences for a Conviction

The state of Virginia takes domestic violence charges very seriously. First-time offenders can face up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500 upon conviction, and those convicted of domestic abuse a third time will automatically face up to five years in prison and a fine of $2,500. Additional penalties, such as community service, probation, and other forms of restitution may also be required in some cases.

Those convicted of domestic violence can also lose their jobs and standing in the community. Convicted felons are also barred from voting and owning firearms, and it is not uncommon for them to have immense difficulty securing housing or employment. Given these potential consequences, retaining a qualified domestic violence lawyer may be crucial for anyone in Charles City facing such accusations.

Call a Charles City Domestic Violence Attorney Today

If you are facing domestic violence charges, an attorney could help you better understand the charges you are facing, as well as the rights guaranteed to you under state and federal law. A domestic violence conviction can completely uproot your life, so do not delay in taking action. Call a Charles City domestic violence lawyer to get started today.

Charles City Domestic Violence Lawyer
Phone
For a free consultation call (804) 977-0764
Contact
The Richmond Defense Firm
Find Us

Address
123 Main Street
New York, NY 10001

Hours
Monday—Friday: 9:00AM–5:00PM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM–3:00PM

Categories