Caroline County Reckless Driving Lawyer

For many, a momentary lack of judgment could result in an arrest for reckless driving. Reckless driving is more than a simple traffic violation, as a conviction could result in jail time. In addition to jail, other consequences could come with a conviction. There is no guarantee of a conviction in your case, especially when you work with a Caroline County reckless driving lawyer.

By taking proactive steps after an arrest for reckless driving, you could give yourself a chance at beating the charges against you. One of those steps could be working with a skilled criminal defense attorney. Your legal counsel could carefully examine your case and assist you in developing the defense that works best for you.

Reckless Driving Laws in Caroline County

The statute that governs reckless driving in Caroline County is Code of Virginia 46.2-852. According to the statute, anyone operating a vehicle on a public roadway in a manner that risks the life, limb, or even property is guilty of reckless driving. While this standard is open-ended, other sections of the code lay out some specific acts that qualify as reckless driving. Some acts that could fall under the reckless driving statute include:

  • Driving too fast for conditions
  • Driving aggressively
  • Passing an emergency vehicle
  • Tailgating
  • Knowingly driving an unsafe vehicle
  • Passing on the shoulder

Many reckless driving arrests involve a vehicle traveling at high speed. In fact, the code specifies that merely traveling at a certain speed above the limit could lead to a reckless driving charge. Code of Virginia 46.2-862 states that driving more than 20 miles above the posted speed limit or more than 80 miles per hour is considered reckless driving.

The reckless driving statute explicitly applies to motorists on public roadways. That does not mean motorists are free to drive recklessly on privately owned parking lots or similar locations. According to Code of Virginia 46.2-864, reckless driving laws also apply at any industrial establishment that provides parking, on a highway currently under construction, or at parking lots or driveways for churches, recreational facilities, or schools. Additionally, the statute also covers any business or government property open to the public.

While allegations of reckless driving are serious, the cases brought prosecutors are not always very strong. This is especially true if law enforcement did not witness the alleged reckless driving firsthand. Anyone charged with reckless driving in Caroline County could benefit from contacting an attorney to discuss the chances of having their case dismissed entirely.

Reckless Driving Penalties

The code also sets out the penalties for a conviction for reckless driving. A first-time offender faces a Class 1 misdemeanor on their record if convicted. This is the most serious form of a misdemeanor, and it carries the potential for one year behind bars. There is also a maximum fine of $2,500 and a potential suspension of driving privileges. If a reckless driving charge results in a fatality, it could lead to a felony conviction. A Caroline County reckless driving lawyer could work with someone facing reckless driving charges to have their case downgraded to a lesser offense.

Work with a Caroline County Reckless Driving Attorney

Due to the severity of the maximum penalties, it is important to take a reckless driving charge seriously. These cases are often winnable, but doing so requires the right defense.

A Caroline County reckless driving lawyer could help you defend yourself against these charges. If successful, you could avoid a criminal conviction entirely. Reach out to schedule your free consultation as soon as possible.

Phone
For a free consultation call (804) 977-0764
Contact
The Richmond Defense Firm
Find Us

Address
123 Main Street
New York, NY 10001

Hours
Monday—Friday: 9:00AM–5:00PM
Saturday & Sunday: 11:00AM–3:00PM