What Constitutes Unlicensed Driving in Richmond, Virginia?

Unlicensed driving in Richmond, Virginia is driving a vehicle without having applied or completed a driving education course. This is considered a serious driving offense that will often make it harder for you to obtain a license in the future, making it imperative that you consult with a Richmond traffic lawyer if you are charged. Call today to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case or learn more about unlicensed driving charges.

Driving Without a Valid License

What Level Of Offense Is This? What Are The Penalties?

Driving without a license in Richmond, Virginia and throughout Virginia is treated as a Class 2 misdemeanor with a possibility of up to 6 months in jail and a possibility of a 90 day license suspension. What they have to show is that you did not have a license at the time you were operating with it and that you didn’t either apply for a license, didn’t qualify for the test in DMV, or that your license was expired and had not been properly renewed.

What Should Someone Expect From This Kind Of Case?

In most cases the case will be tried in the General District Court. In the city of Richmond the prosecutors will be involved in the case. If they are able to provide the court with proof of the license being reinstated they can typically expect a small fine. However if it is an aggravated case or if there are prior offenses and their ability to reinstate their license is forbidden, there is a significant possibility of jail. For this reason it becomes important that an attorney is contacted as you don’t want to face this serious of a charge by yourself.

What Is Unlicensed Driving With No License In Possession In Richmond, Virginia?

Driving without a license in possession is an infraction in the state of Virginia and in Richmond, Virginia. It is basically driving while properly license however not having your license on you if or when stopped by police. Driving without a license in possession is typically viewed as an infraction and it comes with just a minor fine.

Most prosecutors do not get actively involved in a case like this in the City of Richmond. In most cases if you appear in court with you license the judges will consider dismissing the charge. If you are unsure if your charge falls under this distinction, call today and discuss your case with an experienced legal representative.

Unlicensed Driving With a Suspended or Revoked License in Richmond