Henrico County Driving Without a License Lawyer

Driving without a license Lawyer in Henrico VAIn Henrico County and throughout the state of Virginia, you must have a valid driver’s license to operate a vehicle. Your license may be issued by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles or by the state where you currently reside if you are visiting Virginia. If you do not have a valid license and the police pull you over, you can be charged with a crime. Because the consequences are serious, you should consider contacting a Henrico County driving without a license lawyer for help after you have been charged.

Driving without a license is much more serious than simply getting a traffic ticket for things like speeding or running a stop sign. You could be jailed, face further suspension of your license, and be assessed large fines.

How a Henrico County Driving Without a License Lawyer Can Assist You

A Henrico county driving without a license lawyer will assist you in responding in a strategic way after police have charged you with driving illegally. Your options include:

  • Negotiating with the prosecutor. Prosecutors will sometimes agree to dismiss charges or reduce the offense to an infraction if you can get your license shortly after you are charged. Your attorney can talk to the prosecutor for you and try to help find a solution.
  • Arguing that the initial traffic stop was unreasonable. Police cannot pull you over without probable cause, as the Fourth Amendment protects you from unlawful search and seizure. If they do stop you illegally, any evidence they obtain — including evidence that you don’t have a license— cannot be used against you. This means that the prosecutor may have to drop the charges.
  • Raising defenses, including lack of knowledge that the license was invalid, or mitigating factors like extreme hardship that necessitated driving without a current active license.

The right approach to dealing with your charges depends upon the specific circumstances of your traffic stop and resulting arrest for unlicensed driving. A Henrico county driving without a license lawyer can work to help you get the best outcome you can in your particular case.

Virginia Laws on Driving Without a License

Virginia Code Section 46.2-300 makes clear that no person shall drive on any commonwealth roads until:

  • They have applied for a license
  • They have successfully passed the driver’s test required by code section 2-325
  • They have obtained a driver’s license that is valid and remains unexpired

If you are accused of violating this law, you will be charged with a class 2 misdemeanor. The penalties for this offense include up to six months’ confinement in jail as well as a fine of up to $1,000.  If the offense is your second one, or you have multiple prior convictions for driving without a license, then you could be jailed for up to a year and face fines up to $2,500. For first and subsequent offenses, your driving privileges can also be suspended for 90 days.

You may face charges for unlicensed driving if:

  • You have never obtained a license
  • You lost your license as a result of drunk driving, reckless driving, or excessive traffic violations and points on your license
  • You lost your license for failure to pay child support
  • Your license has expired, and you did not renew it

Virginia also requires new residents to get a license in the state within 60 days of relocating. Waiting too long to get a license after you move could result in criminal charges for driving without a valid license.

Contact With A Henrico County Driving Without a License Lawyer

No matter what your situation, it is important to remember that being charged does not always mean you will be convicted. A Henrico County driving without a license lawyer can provide you with assistance in responding to the charges. Call today to schedule a free consultation where you can discuss your driving without a license charge.

Henrico County Traffic Lawyer