FREE Case Evaluation


Richmond Driving Without a License Lawyer

Driving without a license in Virginia is a serious offense that often comes with heavy fines and jail time. Therefore if you have been charged you should contact a Richmond driving without a license lawyer so they can advocate on your behalf and minimize the consequences you have to face.

What Is Driving Without a License?

Attorney for Driving without a License in Richmond VirginiaVirginia Code section 46.2-300 prohibits an individual from driving a motor vehicle on Virginia roads without a valid driver’s license.

However, there are certain exceptions to this law.  For example, Section 46.2-308 considers a new Virginia resident, over the age of 16 years and three months, who was previously licensed to drive in another state, exempt for the first 60 days of his or her Virginia residency.

Potential Charges and Penalties

If you are charged with driving without a license and found not to be exempt from the law, it is important to contact a Richmond driving without a license attorney so you know exactly what type of penalty you are facing.

In Virginia, a conviction of driving without a  license means that you are automatically facing a possible suspension of your driving privileges for up to 90 days.  The suspension is in addition to other possible penalties that depend upon the number of times you have been convicted of driving without a license.  As the number of previous convictions increase, the harsher the penalties become.

If this is the first time you have been charged with driving without a license, you are facing a penalty of a class 2 misdemeanor which, per Section 18.2-11, carries possible penalties of up to six months in jail and a possible maximum fine of $1,000.

However, if this is the second time you have been charged with driving without a license, a conviction increases the penalty from a Class 2 misdemeanor to a Class 1 misdemeanor.  A class 1 misdemeanor under Section 18.2-11  authorizes a penalty of a maximum of 12 months in jail and a possible fine of $2,500.

How a Richmond Driving Without a License Lawyer Can Help

Having your driving privileges suspended or revoked can make living everyday life difficult due to the inability to drive to work or other obligations.

A Richmond driving without a license lawyer will be able to help you by making sure you are aware of the process at hand while creating a strong defense that will put you in the best possible position to receive a positive result in your case.  Additionally, having an experienced driving without a license lawyer in Richmond will give you the best chance at having your sentence reduced, your driving privileges restored, or your case dismissed.

If you are currently facing a driving without a license charge in Virginia consult with an experienced Richmond driving without a license lawyer.