Chesterfield Driving Without a License Lawyer
If you have been charged with driving without a license or driving while your license is suspended, you need a lawyer experienced with traffic offense matters. A Chesterfield driving without a license lawyer can navigate you through the difficulties associated with charges of driving without a license.
Virginia Penalties For Driving Without a License
In order to drive in Virginia, you need a valid license. If your license has been revoked or suspended, regardless of whether the license you held is from Virginia or another state, you do not have a valid license. To drive without a license in Virginia exposes you to serious penalties which makes hiring a Chesterfield driving without a license lawyer imperative. A conviction for driving without a license carries the following penalties:
First Offense: Class 2 misdemeanor for which there is the potential punishment of confinement in jail for not more than six months and a fine of not more than $1,000.
Second and Subsequent Offenses: Class 1 misdemeanor for which there is the potential punishment of confinement in jail for up to one year and a fine of up to $2,500.
In addition, it is within the discretion of the sentencing judge to suspend a driver convicted of driving without a license for up to 90 days [Virginia Code Section 46.2- 300].
While jail sentences are rarely imposed upon conviction of a first offense for driving without a license, they do sometimes impose jail sentences for second offenses and regularly impose jail sentences on third and subsequent offenses.
Driving With a Suspended License
An even more serious offense in Virginia is driving with a suspended license. A conviction for driving on a suspended license carries the following penalties:
First Offense: A class 1 misdemeanor for which there is a potential punishment of confinement in jail for up to one year and a fine of up to $2,500.
Second Offense: Also a class 1 misdemeanor with the same penalties as the first offense.
Third or Subsequent Offenses: Same as a second offense, except a 10-day mandatory jail sentence will be imposed.
In addition, it is within the discretion of the sentencing judge to suspend the driving privileges of a driver convicted of driving on a suspended license for up to 90 days. [Section 46.2- 301.]
More serious yet is a third category of driving after license forfeiture. [Section 18.2-272, Driving after Forfeiture of License.] There are certain circumstances when a driver’s license is considered “forfeited” rather than suspended. This occurs when an individual’s license is suspended due to:
- Refusal of a blood or breath test upon suspicion of a DUI/DWI
- DUI/DWI conviction
- Initial administrative suspension upon DUI/DWI charge
- Several other enumerated offenses within Section 46.2-389
An individual is charged under this statute when the individual drives outside the parameters of a restricted operator’s license or while under suspension and with a BAC of .02% or more.
Hiring a Chesterfield Driving Without a License Lawyer
If you are charged with any of these offenses in Chesterfield County, it is imperative you contact a Chesterfield driving without a license attorney immediately. A knowledgeable driving without a license attorney in Chesterfield can assist in establishing your legal defense but also advise you on the best way to mitigate the damages a conviction could cause. An attorney can also negotiate with Prosecutors in an attempt to have your charge reduced or dismissed depending on the facts of the case and the status of your license.